The services of Royal Canadian Mounted Police experts in fingerprints, crime-index information, examination of firearms and questioned documents are available to all other police forces in Canada. A *Police Gazette*, issued monthly and containing instructional articles on police work as well as the latest information on wanted or missing persons, is sent to all police forces across the country. The Force has two Police Colleges that are open to selected personnel from other police forces in Canada and to a more limited number of police personnel from outside the country.

A special article appears in the 1957-58 Year Book entitled "The Philosophy of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police".

Subsection 2.-Provincial Police Forces*

Quebec Provincial Police Force.—This Force is responsible for upholding law and order over the whole territory of the province, from the provincial boundary between Ontario and Quebec to the Magdalen Islands in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The Force is composed of about 1,600 men under the orders of a Director, who is responsible to the Attorney General of the province.

To facilitate operations, the territory is divided into two almost equal parts designated as the District of Montreal and the District of Quebec. The Director has his office in Montreal, with a Deputy Director in Quebec City. There is an Assistant to the Director in Montreal and one in Quebec.

Working under the Assistant Directors for the Montreal and Quebec Districts are the following: an Inspector General; an Inspector (Detective Branch); an Inspector (Traffic Branch); and an Inspector (Constabulary). Each of these three sections (Detective, Traffic, Constabulary) is under a captain supported by a number of lieutenants and sergeants.

There are 40 Outpost Detachments in the Montreal District and 18 in the Quebec District.

Ontario Provincial Police.—The Ontario Provincial Police Force is maintained by the Ontario Government and administered by the Attorney General's Department. It is responsible for law enforcement in the rural and unorganized parts of the province and in certain municipalities by contract. The development of the Force from its beginning in the early years of Confederation to the passing of the Police Act in 1946 is outlined in the 1950 Year Book, pp. 332-333.

The Force, with a strength of approximately 1,860 in 1959, consists of a General Headquarters at Toronto and 17 District Headquarters at Chatham, London, Dundas, Niagara Falls, Toronto, Mount Forest, Barrie, Peterborough, Belleville, Perth, Cornwall, North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie, Timmins, Port Arthur and Kenora. Each District has detachments adequate to meet local law-enforcement requirements. A Criminal Investigations Branch, under the command of an Assistant Commissioner, is maintained at Toronto to handle crimes of a major nature.

The Force operates one of the largest frequency-modulation radio networks in the world, which is a most efficient method of combating every type of lawlessness. The network includes 66 fixed stations—48 60-watt stations and 18 250-watt stations, one of which is dual-controlled—and 582 radio-equipped mobile units including five boats operating on Lake Temagami, Lake Simcoe, Lake Nipissing, Lake of the Woods and Georgian Bay.

In 1959, the Ontario Provincial Police Force policed 55 municipalities which requested this service under the provisions of the Police Act.

^{*} Revised by Geo. A. Shea, O.B.E., Secretary-Treasurer. Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, Montreal.